Asian Para Games: PM Modi congratulates Indian medal winners
Courtesy: X/@narendramodi

Asian Para Games: PM Modi congratulates Indian medal winners

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday congratulated Indian athletes for their medal-winning performances at the Asian Para Games on Day 2 in Hangzhou.

PM Modi praised Deepthi Jeevanji's electrifying performance in winning a gold medal in the Women's 400m-T20 event at the Asian Para Games.

Deepthi, with a record timing of 56.69s, secured a top podium finish ahead of Thailand's Orawan Kaising who gave her personal best time of 59.00s and still had to settle for silver. Japan's Niina Kanno bagged a bronze by clocking her personal best of 59.73s.

In the men's 400m-T64 final, India's Ajay Kumar gave his personal best timing of 54.85s to clinch a silver medal. Saudi Arabia's Nour Mohammed broke the Asian Para record with a timing of 52.81s. Thailand's Jafa Seapla settled for bronze with a timing of 55.09s.

"Kudos to Ajay Kumar for clinching the Silver in the Men's 400m-T64 at the Asian Para Games. His outstanding accomplishment speaks volumes of his dedication and determination," the Prime Minister congratulated the Indian athlete.

PM Modi congratulated Ravi Rongali for winning a silver medal in the Men's Shotput F40 event.

Rubina Francis clinched a bronze medal in P2 - Women's 10m Air Pistol SH1 Final Event.

"A great Bronze win by @Rubina_PLY in P2 - Women's 10m Air Pistol SH1 event at the Asian Para Games. Rubina's incredible dedication and perseverance have made this possible. Best wishes for the future endeavours," Prime Minister posted on X.

India has sent 303 athletes - 191 men and 112 women - to the fourth edition of the Asian Para Games which is the largest contingent to the continental event.

At the 2018 Asian Para Games, India sent a total of 190 athletes and returned with 72 medals, including 15 gold, for their best performance at the quadrennial event.


iGlobal News