I Globalnews_signup

Indian Ministers hold trade, tech discussions with EU

The first Ministerial meeting of the India – EU Trade and Technology Council (TTC) begins in Brussels, co-chaired on the Indian side by Minister S. Jaishankar, Piyush Goyal and Rajeev Chandrasekhar.

TTC was launched by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen during the latter’s visit to India in April 2022. Subsequently both sides established three Working Groups under the TTC: Working Group on Strategic Technologies, Digital Governance and Digital Connectivity; Working Group on Green and Clean Energy Technologies; and Working Group on Trade, Investment and Resilient Value Chains.

Both sides have maintained continuous engagement thereafter within the Working Groups at various levels and meetings of the three Working Groups have also taken place leading to the Ministerial meeting in Brussels.

Minister Jaishankar also shared his thoughts about visiting Sweden and engaging EU-Indo Pacific Ministerial.
"I visited Stockholm for a meeting of the European Union's Indo-Pacific Ministerial Forum and also to mark the 75th year of diplomatic relations between India and Sweden. My talks with my Swedish counterpart Tobias Billstrom were extensive in terms of exploring, taking our bilateral cooperation to a higher level as also comprehensive in discussing the political and economic challenges in our respective regions and indeed for the global economy," he said.
The Minister also met Swedish Defense Minister Paul Johnson, National Security Advisor Henrik Landerholm and Prime Minister Ulf Kristersson who reflected the interest in Sweden about intensifying its relationship with India.

(With ANI inputs)

Related Stories

No stories found.
iGlobal News