PM Modi expresses pride as India notch up more Tokyo Paralympics medals

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Mariyappan Thangavelu and Sharad Kumar for winning silver and bronze in the men's high-jump event at the ongoing Tokyo Paralympics.

"Soaring higher and higher! Mariyappan Thangavelu is synonymous with consistency and excellence. Congratulations to him for winning the Silver Medal. India is proud of his feat," tweeted PM Modi.

For Sharad, PM Modi wrote: The indomitable Sharad Kumar has brought smiles on the faces of every Indian by winning the Bronze Medal. His life journey will motivate many. Congratulations to him."

Mariyappan Thangavelu and Sharad Kumar won silver and bronze respectively in the men's high jump final at the National Stadium in Tokyo on August 31.

Mariyappan Thangavelu clinched silver after leaping the mark of 1.86m. This is his second medal at the Games, having already won a gold in Rio 2016. Meanwhile, Sharad Kumar grabbed bronze after scaling his season-best mark of 1.83m.

The Indian Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports, Anurag Thakur, also felicitated Tokyo Paralympics silver medallist Nishad Kumar. Nishad, who hails from Himachal Pradesh, won the silver with a jump of 2.06m in the Men's High Jump T47 category at the Tokyo Paralympics.

Thakur said: “The unflinching support of our PM Narendra Modi Ji towards sports has indeed motivated our athletes to give their best and I congratulate Nishad on his success."

Indian athletes have put up a historic display at the Paralympic Games in Tokyo as they won five medals, including two golds, taking the country's total medal haul to eight.

Shooter Avani Lekhara (gold), Singhraj Adhana (bronze), Sumit Antil (gold), Devendra Jhajharia (silver) and Sundar Singh Gurjar (bronze) are among the medal winners doing the country proud.


Related Stories

No stories found.
iGlobal News