India, Pak exchange list of nuclear installations

Through diplomatic channels simultaneously at New Delhi and Islamabad, India and Pakistan exchanged the list of nuclear installations and facilities covered under the Agreement on the Prohibition of Attack against Nuclear Installations and Facilities between India and Pakistan.

The Agreement, which was signed on December 31, 1988, and entered into force on January 27, 1991, provides, among other things, that India and Pakistan inform each other of the nuclear installations and facilities to be covered under the Agreement on January 1 of every calendar year. This is the 31st consecutive exchange of such lists between the two countries, the first one having taken place on January 01, 1992.

It means, the nuclear installations can not be attacked in case of an escalation of hostilities.

The two countries have also exchanged lists of prisoners held in each other's prisons, including civilians, defence personnel, and fishermen, according to the Indian Ministry of External Affairs statement.

Related Stories

No stories found.
iGlobal News