I Globalnews_signup

President Kovind awards India’s highest civilian Padma Awards

Indian President Ram Nath Kovind presents the Padma Awards in the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi on November 8.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar are among the attendees. The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The award seeks to recognise achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.

As many 119 Padma Awards are presented by President this year. The list comprises 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. 29 of the awardees are women, 16 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender awardee.

Among some of the awards: Former Indian External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj was conferred with the Padma Vibhushan award posthumously; Olympian badminton player PV Sindhu was awarded the Padma Bhushan, India's third-highest civilian award; and actor Kangana Ranaut, singer Adnan Sami and the women’s hockey team received the Padma Shri Award – the fourth-highest award.


Related Stories

No stories found.


No stories found.


No stories found.
iGlobal News